Inyo County Free Library - New Acquisitions

These are books and media new to the library and cataloged by the Inyo County Free Library.

Additional information about each title can be found in the catalog (click on the title). For older acquisition lists choose from Select another list. To request any of these titles please contact your local library branch.

Next Page >

1 to 20 of 103

Book Cover

Fobbit

By Abrams, David

Publishing Date: c2012

Classification: FIC

Call Number: FIC

At Foreward Operating Base Triumph, a combat-avoiding staff sergeant named Chance Gooding spends his time composing press releases that spin grim events into statements more palatable to the public.

Book Cover

Lost City Radio: a novel

By Alarcón, Daniel

Publishing Date: c2007

Classification: FIC

Call Number: FIC

Imparting comfort while reading the names of missing people to her war-ravaged listeners, radio host Norma finds her life irrevocably changed when a young boy from a remote jungle village provides a connection to her long-missing husband.

Book Cover

Heart of Aztlan: a novel

By Anaya, Rudolfo A.

Publishing Date: 1988,c1976

Classification: FIC

Call Number: FIC

A story of how cultures collide in an Albuquerque barrio.

Book Cover

Carry the one

By Anshaw, Carol

Publishing Date: c2012

Classification: FIC

Call Number: FIC

When a car of inebriated guests from Carmen's wedding hits and kills a girl on a country road, Carmen and the people involved in the accident connect, disconnect and reconnect throughout 25 subsequent years of marriage, parenthood, holidays and tragedies.

Book Cover

Hope, a tragedy: a novel

By Auslander, Shalom

Publishing Date: 2012

Classification: FIC

Call Number: FIC

Relocating his family to an unremarkable rural town in New York in the hopes of starting over, Solomon Kugel must cope with his depressive mother, a local arsonist, and the discovery of a believed-dead historical specimen hiding in his attic.

Book Cover

The free world: [a novel]

By Bezmozgis, David

Publishing Date: 2011

Classification: FIC

Call Number: FIC

Summer, 1978. Among the thousands of Soviet Jews who have landed in Italy to secure visas for new lives in the West are the members of the Krasnansky family-- three generations of Russian Jews. Together they will spend six months in Rome-- their way station and purgatory. - (Baker & Taylor) A New York Times Notable Book for 2011 A Globe and Mail Best Books of the Year 2011 Title

Book Cover

NEW RELEASE

Chestnut Street

By Binchy, Maeve

Publishing Date: 2014

Classification: FIC

Call Number: FIC

"While she was writing columns for The Irish Times and her best-selling novels, Maeve Binchy also had in mind to write a book that revolved around one street with many characters coming and going. Every once in a while, she would write about one these people. She would then put it in a drawer. "For the future," she would say. The future is now. Just around the corner from St. Jarlath's Crescent (which readers will recognize from Minding Frankie) is Chestnut Street, where neighbors come and go. Behind their closed doors we encounter very different people with different life circumstances, occupations, and sensibilities. Written with the humor and understanding that are earmarks of Maeve Binchy's work, it is a pleasure to be part of this world with all of its joys and sorrows, to get to know the good and the bad, and ultimately to have our hearts warmed by her storytelling"--

Book Cover

HHhH

By Binet, Laurent

Publishing Date: 2012

Classification: FIC

Call Number: FIC

Tells the story Jozef Gabcik and Jan Kubis, who escaped Nazi-occupied Prague and were then recruited by the British Secret Service to carry out the assassination of Reinhard Heydrich, the notorious "Butcher of Prague."

Book Cover

Sunday Jews

By Calisher, Hortense

Publishing Date: c2002

Classification: FIC

Call Number: FIC

From one of our most distinguished writers comes a tragicomedy about a fascinating clan of people trying to fit in and stand out in America. In this new novel, Calisher explores a family united in blood yet divided by ideas.

Book Cover

NEW RELEASE

The trident deception

By Campbell, Rick

Publishing Date: 2014

Classification: FIC

Call Number: FIC

"The USS Kentucky--a Trident ballistic missile submarine carrying a full complement of 192 nuclear warheads--is about to go on a routine cruise. Not long after it reaches the open sea, however, the Kentucky receives a launch order. After receiving that launch order, it is cut off from all counter-orders and disappears into the Pacific while it makes the eight-day transit to the launch site. What the Kentucky's crew doesn't know is that those launch orders haven't actually come from the U.S. government. Rogue elements within the Mossad have learned that Iran has developed its first nuclear weapon and, in ten days, will detonate it--and the target is Israel. The suspected weapon complex is too far underground for conventional weapons to harm it, and the only choice is a pre-emptive nuclear strike. With limited time, this rogue group initiates a long-planned operation called the Trident Deception. They'll transmit false orders and use a U.S. nuclear submarine to launch the attack. With only 8 days before the Kentucky is in launch range and with the submarine cut off from any outside communication, one senior officer, the father of one of the officers aboard the submarine, must assemble and lead a team of attack submarines to find, intercept and neutralize the Kentucky before it can unknowingly unleash a devastating nuclear attack"--

Book Cover

A land more kind than home

By Cash, Wiley

Publishing Date: 2012

Classification: FIC

Call Number: FIC

Growing up in a small North Carolina town, Jess Hall is plunged into an adulthood for which he is not prepared when his autistic older brother, Stump, sneaks a look at something he is not supposed to see, which has catastrophic repercussions.

Book Cover

NEW RELEASE

I am Abraham: (a novel of Lincoln and the Civil War)

By Charyn, Jerome

Publishing Date: 2014

Classification: FIC

Call Number: FIC

Traces the historic arc of Lincoln's life from his picaresque days as a gangly young lawyer in Sangamon County, Illinois, through his improbable marriage to Kentucky belle Mary Todd, to his 1865 visit to war-shattered Richmond only days before his assassination.

Book Cover

The grief of others

By Cohen, Leah Hager

Publishing Date: c2011

Classification: FIC

Call Number: FIC

Is keeping a secret from a spouse always an act of infidelity? And what cost does such a secret exact on a family? The Ryries have suffered a loss: the death of a baby just fifty-seven hours after his birth. Without words to express their grief, the parents, John and Ricky, try to return to their previous lives. Struggling to regain a semblance of normalcy for themselves and for their two older children, they find themselves pretending not only that little has changed, but that their marriage, their family, have always been intact. Yet in the aftermath of the baby's death, long-suppressed uncertainties about their relationship come roiling to the surface. A dreadful secret emerges with reverberations that reach far into their past and threaten their future.

Book Cover

Open city: a novel

By Cole, Teju

Publishing Date: c2011

Classification: FIC

Call Number: FIC

Feeling adrift after ending a relationship, Julius, a young Nigerian doctor living in New York, takes long walks through the city while listening to the stories of fellow immigrants until a shattering truth is revealed.

Book Cover

NEW RELEASE

Andrew's brain

By Doctorow, E. L.

Publishing Date: 2014

Classification: FIC

Call Number: FIC

A psychological tale recounts the experiences of Andrew, who confesses to an unknown recipient the memory- and truth-challenging events, loves, and tragedies that have led him to a mysterious act.

Book Cover

Canada: [a novel]

By Ford, Richard

Publishing Date: c2012

Classification: FIC

Call Number: FIC

In 1956, Dell Parsons' family came to a stop in Great Falls, Montana, the way many military families did after the war. His father, Bev, was a talkative airman from Alabama with an optimistic and easy-scheming nature. Their mother Neeva - shy, artistic - was alienated from their father's small-town world. It was more bad instincts and bad luck that Dell's parents decided to rob the bank. They weren't reckless people. In the days following the arrest, Dell is saved before the authorities think to arrive. Driving across Montana, his life hurtles towards the unknown; a hotel in a deserted town, the violent and enigmatic Arthur Remlinger, and towards Canada itself. But, as Dell discovers, in this new world of secrets and upheaval, he is not the only one whose past lies on the other side of a border.

Book Cover

Billy Lynn's long halftime walk

By Fountain, Ben

Publishing Date: c2012

Classification: FIC

Call Number: FIC

A satire set in Texas during America's war in Iraq that explores the gaping national disconnect between the war at home and the war abroad. Follows the surviving members of the heroic Bravo Squad through one exhausting stop in their media-intensive "Victory Tour" at Texas Stadium, football mecca of the Dallas Cowboys, their fans, promoters, and cheerleaders.

Book Cover

Arcadia

By Groff, Lauren

Publishing Date: c2012

Classification: FIC

Call Number: FIC

The story of a great American dream-- the progress of a utopian community and its lasting impact on a gifted young man.

Book Cover

NEW RELEASE

The Orphan Choir

By Hannah, Sophie

Publishing Date: 2014

Classification: FIC

Call Number: FIC

"Louise Beeston is haunted... Louise has no reason left to stay in the city. She can't see her son, Joseph, who is away at boarding school where he performs in a prestigious boys' choir. And her troublesome neighbor has begun blasting choral music all hours of the night. And to make matters worse, she's the only one who can hear it. Hoping to find some peace, Louise convinces her husband, David, to buy them a country house in an idyllic, sun-dappled community called Swallowfield. But it seems that the haunting melodies of the choir have followed her there. Could it be that her city neighbor has trailed her to Swallowfield, just to play an elaborate, malicious prank? Is there really a ghostly chorus playing outside her door? And why won't they stop? Growing desperate, she begins to worry about her mental health. Against the pleas and growing disquiet of her husband, Louise starts to suspect that this sinister choir is not only real, but a warning. But of what? And how can it be, when no one else can hear it? In The Orphan Choir, Sophie Hannah brings us along on a darkly suspenseful investigation of obsession, loss, and the malevolent forces that threaten to break apart a loving family. - The Orphan Choir was a major bestseller in the U.K. when it published in June 2013, outselling Hannah's immensely popular Zailer and Waterhouse series. - For fans of Shirley Jackson and Stephen King "--

Book Cover

NEW RELEASE

Brown Dog: novellas

By Harrison, Jim

Publishing Date: 2013

Classification: FIC

Call Number: FIC

"Of all [Jim Harrison's] creations, Brown Dog has earned cult status with readers in the more than two decades since his first appearance, scrambling to stay out of jail after his salvage-diving operation uncovers the frozen body of an Indian man in the waters of Lake Superior. Now, for the first time, this book gathers all the Brown Dog novellas, including one never before published, into one volume"--Jacket.

Next Page >

1 to 20 of 103