Affected Units of Local Government


There are ten (10) designated Affected Units of Local Governments (AULG's) that surround Yucca Mountain. Nine of the counties are in Nevada and one is in California (Inyo) and there is one designated Tribe the Timbasha Shoshone. These AULG's and Tribe have been granted authority to provide information and public involvement opportunities regarding federal decisions about Yucca Mountain and are eligible under the Nuclear Waste Policy Act to receive financial assistance for a variety of purposes, including:

Monitoring DOE activities

Assessing impacts of site characterization and repository development

Making recommendations to the Secretary of Energy

Developing claims for impact mitigation and/or compensation assistance

Keeping county residents informed of project activities and issues