Planning Commission

The Inyo County Planning Commission acts as the advisory body to the Board of Supervisors on matters concerning growth, development, and the environment of the County. The Commission's role is established and defined by Section 2.40 of the Inyo County Code.

The Commission is composed of five members; one each from the five Supervisorial Districts. The Board of Supervisors appoints these five Commissioners for a term of four years. Each of the five appointed members may vote on all matters coming before the Commission. In addition to the five voting members, two non-voting advisory members represent the County in special fields of expertise. Advisory members are the County Administrator and Director of Public Works.



  • Lanie Somers - First District 
  • Caitlin "Kate" Morley - Second District (Chair)
  • Todd Vogel - Third District (Vice Chair)
  • Callie Peek - Fourth District
  • Scott Kemp - Fifth District


  • Leslie Chapman - County Administrative Officer
  • Mike Errante - Public Works Director 


  • Cathreen Richards - Planning Director
  • Christian Milovich  -  County Counsel
  • Paula Riesen - Project Coordinator

The Planning Commission meets once a month on the fourth Wednesday unless cancelled or rescheduled.

2022 Planning Commission meetings

January 26, 2022

February 23, 2022

March 23, 2022 - First  In-Person Meeting With Zoom Available to Public

April 27, 2022

May 25, 2022 - Cancelled

June 29, 2022 

July 27, 2022 - Cancelled

August 17, 2022 

September 28, 2022 - Cancelled

October 12, 2022

Combined November & December

December 7, 2022 


Planning Commission

Planning Commission is an in person meeting  at the Board of Supervisors Chambers at 224 N. Edwards Street in Independence, California.  The next meeting will be  October 12, 2022 at 10:00 a.m. Zoom will be available with audio only. Join Zoom Meeting -

Meeting ID: 881 0497 9994

Passcode: 045536

One tap mobile


*045536# US +16699006833,,88104979994#

,,,,*045536# US (San Jose)